A trip to Ireland – next stop, Donegal (part 1)

agapanthusmap

I’m not sure I like this format sketchbook, I like the paper and build quality as usual (Stillman&Birn Alpha) but the landscape format means double the work scanning and piecing the scanned pages together to show a full spread, AND if you want to see any of the pages in detail you must click on them. Not arduous, but still…

The drive from Belfast to Donegal is smooth and scenic. We arrived in sunshine (Yay!) making our way along the shore of Lough Swilly up through Ramelton (pronounced ra-MEL-ton) to the neat and quintessential Irish village of Rathmullan and the delightful Georgian country house hotel itself. http://www.rathmullanhouse.com/

Rathmullanhouse

I cannot praise this hotel enough. Gently elegant, perfectly arranged, no pretension, but excellent service. One feels at home immediately. We felt at home immediately (which is the whole point of a country house hotel). I swan about pretending that I live there sometime between the 1880s and 1940s – Always family, never staff…

room34

Things weren’t really wonky as in my drawings… Actually things were perfect- and pretty.

carveddoorframe

pinkroom

hotelgardens

The hotel is just a few mins from the beach, just across the lawn down past that bench… where you get views like this :

rathmullan-beachClick on my sketch below of the sunshine and rain to see it properly- I am rather pleased with my grey blustery day.

rainandshine

Old friends joined us. We ate gorgeous food, drank some wine and shared stories and recollections.

maryandmick

crabandmango

I collected some of Mary’s many sayings, and the next day we headed off to see some of the Wild Atlantic Way. Which I will show you in the next post.

5 thoughts on “A trip to Ireland – next stop, Donegal (part 1)

  1. I really enjoyed your illustrations thanks so much. So much wonderful details and colour and flair, you are very talented. I was also in Donegal last year, a lovely place. I love the drive around the coast up there, you know the mini little tourist drive with an old pub towards the end? I loved Ireland. I will be following your posts! X

    Like

Tell me what you thought of that.

